American Society for Peripheral Nerve

American Society for Peripheral Nerve
home join donate signin
ASPN History

The American Society for Peripheral Nerve was established April 19, 1990 by our 21 founding members. Today ASPN represents over 300 members comprised of member of many different fields including neurosurgery, orthopedic surgery, plastic surgery, general surgery, rehabilitation, basic science, and engineering. We come together because of our mutual interest in solving nerve related problems facing clinicians and scientists. With those goals in mind ASPN continues to serve as the world’s gathering place for all those interested in nerve regeneration and repair.

See more about the history of ASPN from members and Past Presidents through video and print!

30th Anniversary Synapse issue

ASPN Founding Members

Warren Breidenbach, MD
Thomas Brushart, MD
David Chiu, MD
A. Lee Dellon, MD
Richard Ehrlichman, MD
Nelson Goldberg, MD
Roger Khouri, MD
Howard Klein, MD
Susan Mackinnon, MD
Hallene Maragh, MD
Wyndell Merritt, MD
Michael Orgel, MD
Elliot Rose, MD
Joseph Rosen, MD
Brooke Seckel, MD
Saleh Shenaq, MD
Thomas Stevenson, MD
Berish Strauch, MD
Julia K. Terzis, MD, PhD
Allen Van Beek, MD
Bruce Williams, MD

ASPN Past Presidents

Christine Novak, PT, PhD 2019-2020
David Brown, MD 2018-2019
Tessa Gordon, PhD 2017-2018
Martijn Malessy, MD, PhD 2016-2017
Thomas H. H. Tung, MD 2015-2016
Nash H. Naam, MD 2014-2015
Allan J. Belzberg, MD 2013-2014
Robert Spinner, MD 2012-2013
Ivica Ducic, MD, PhD 2011-2012
Paul S. Cederna, MD 2010-2011
Howard M. Clarke, MD, PhD 2009-2010
Robert C. Russell, MD 2008-2009
Gregory R.D. Evans, MD, FACS 2007-2008
Rajiv Midha, MD 2006-2007
Maria Siemionow, MD, PhD 2005-2006
Steven McCabe, MD 2004-2005
Keith E. Brandt, MD 2003-2004
William M. Kuzon, Jr., MD, PhD 2002-2003
Nancy H. McKee, MD 2001-2002
David T. W. Chiu, MD 1999-2001
Saleh Shenaq, MD 1998-1999
Allen Van Beek, MD 1997-1998
Wyndell Merritt, MD 1996-1997
Susan E. Mackinnon, MD 1995-1996
H. Bruce Williams, MD 1994-1995
Berish Strauch, MD 1993-1994
A. Lee Dellon, MD 1992-1993
Julia K. Terzis, MD, PhD 1990-1992